Trying Is More Valuable Than Succeeding

Why you should go all out on your goals, even if you end up failing

Sophie F
4 min readMar 19, 2024
Photo by Fab Lentz on Unsplash

I failed to reach a particular outcome in a sports team I’d been with for many years.

We started in the lowest grade and got better and better over the years until we moved to the top level. Over this time, it looked like it might be possible for us to compete at this level in overseas competitions.

At the competition in which we had to qualify, we were short by two points — so close.

I had been with this team all through high school and university, and I was finishing university at the same time as this happened.

For years, I had wanted to go and travel and live abroad, and the one thing that had kept me from doing that much earlier was this dream of competing across the world at this level.

I stepped away from the sport after this disappointment to go and live some life in another country.

The team changed tack, narrowed in on their goal to compete at those certain competitions, and went on to do that at a different level the following year.

My story could have included a part about staying with them, but it did not. The truth is, when I saw them over there, although I was thrilled for…

--

--